Board of Directors

At present the South Hill (Fraser Street) Business Association’s volunteer Board of Directors consists of eight business tenants and property owners. The directors play a primary role in directing the six key areas of the association’s operations.

The Board of Directors meet monthly. Members are welcome to contact a board member or the SHBA’s Executive Director if they would like to bring an item to the Board’s attention.

2017-2018  Board of Directors

Jeevan Banwait, Banwait Investment Holdings, 6095 Fraser Street
Jeevan is Vice-President of a family-operated investment firm specializing in commercial real estate. He has over 10 years’ experience in the property trade and has successfully graduated with a property management certificate. Jeevan’s specific interest in the business association is neighbourhood planning and special events.

Parveen Dosanjh, RBC Royal Bank, 6505 Fraser Street
Parveen is the Manager of RBC Royal Bank and leads the SHBA Legislative Committee, helping to bring our by-laws into line with the New Society Act. Parveen also would like to help improve the cleanliness of our business area by reducing graffiti and garbage. She brings relevant experience to our board as the former Secretary and President of the West 4th BIA. Parveen grew up in East Van and is excited to continue to serve on the board.

Gugjit (Jack) Hayre, CIBC, 6204 Fraser Street
Jack has worked for one employer, CIBC, all his working career and is currently General Manager at the CIBC Banking Centre. This is his third term at this location during his 36-year career in the Banking industry and he has made many friends and business contacts in the community. Jack is interested in contributing to the area of Marketing and Special Events.

Ken Mason, Mason Sewing Machines, 6184 Fraser Street
Ken is a founding member of the South Hill (Fraser Street) Business Association. He is both a property owner and until mid-2014 his family’s business was on Fraser for over 60 years. Ken served as President for the first 5 years of the Association. Ken’s specific interests within the Business Association are: Neighbourhood Planning, parking lots & pay parking, planters & landscaping.

Paul Riley, South Hill Neighbourhood Centre, 5888 Fraser Street
With 15+ years’ experience in Operations Management in both private and not-for-profit sectors, Paul has served as Director of Operations at South Vancouver Neighbourhood House since 2014. He holds an MBA in Organizational Leadership & Change from Royal Roads U. Paul’s interest in the SHBA lies in working with local businesses to engage the community through Marketing and Special Events.

Jinesh Shah, Tim Hortons, 5896 Fraser Street
Jinesh is part of a Tim Hortons ownership group with operations in Toronto, Vancouver and northern BC. Prior to entering into the business venture with his wife, Shraddha, he worked with American Express for nine years and his education includes a degree in Engineering from India. Jinesh looks forward to being part of the SHBA to improve customers’ experiences and safety.

Chris Singh, Vancity, 6288 Fraser Street
As Branch Manager at Vancity, Chris has thrived in the Financial Services industry for the past 18 years and has lived for 40+ years in South Hill. He also has close to 20 years’ experience in security and loss prevention. Chris earned a Bachelor’s degree in Economics from SFU as well as a Financial Management & Financial Planning certificate from BCIT.  His interests in the SHBA include safety and security and the Neighbourhood Committee.

Stephen Tam, Sunny Electronics, 5806 Fraser Street
Stephen has been doing business at the same location on Fraser Street for over 30 years. He has immense interest in helping make the South Hill Fraser Street area a better place to shop, work and live. Stephen’s specific interests within the Business Association include safety & security, street cleanliness, signs & awnings, food stalls, as well as social media & communications.